Ask and You Shall Receive

The Lord is so good! I’ve been praying for a purpose here–well a purpose that is much more easily seen than what I’ve been seeing these last few weeks–and finally, I’ve found one. This week I got placed on a new worksite, which will be my site for the rest of the summer. We went into the project originally planning on just drywalling, but naturally I found many more opportunities for us to go above and beyond for this family (similarly to 555, which was supposed to be 1 week!).

I am serving alongside of Jovon Rabbit, Eric Kills Enemy at Night, and their 3 year old daughter, Adelia. This family is so incredible, loving, and close knit. I haven’t gotten to know Eric much, as he works at Hands of Faith Ministry, but I have been blessed to spend the last week with Jovon and Adelia. These two have been such a joy in my life this past week. Being able to spend my days surrounded by the joy of a three year old is something that helps me see the Lord a little clearer. Seeing her love for her mother, and her mother for her, is something I am so blessed by, and something that isn’t always the case here on the Rez.

Day 1 Adelia started out shy, but I told her I would get a high-five from her by the end of the day. Not only did I end up with a high-five twenty minutes later, but a hug and a kiss on the cheek at the end of the day. She was my little helper that day, checking in on our crew between coloring pages in a coloring book (yes I was coloring too–community development people!). Day 2 I painted… Adelia’s nails. Well, actually she took the brush and spread it all over her fingers of one hand, but same thing. After her nails dried she, Jovon, and I began to mud some of the drywall that had been put up. Day 3 continued about the same as the other two, lots of stuff got done. However, Day 4 was my favorite, as it consisted of Adelia sleeping on my lap all morning, cuddled up in her brand new purple blanket.

IMG_2849.JPG
It was a hair and nails sort of day.
IMG_2916.JPG
How was I supposed to put her down and put up drywall?

As the week continued the drywall went up fast, the mud went on thick, and the sanding turned the house into a winter wonderland. I cannot wait to continue working alongside Jovon and Adelia this summer– helping their new house become a home!

As far as all other aspects of week 4, they were fantastic and very strange. We had two groups returning from last year (Ohio and Michigan), a group from Colorado (the church the NSM Colorado Springs group is staying), and a group from Wisconsin. The students and leaders this week were so incredible, full of joy, and served so well. We all wished they would stay for another week. Overall, a fantastic group, and a fantastic week.

So where does the strange come in? Well, I will start by saying everyone is okay, no one got hurt, and God is good. Tuesday night we had a storm that prevented us from going to Lakota Hope (nothing too crazy, but strange because every year Ohio has been here they haven’t been able to go).

Wednesday night is where it starts to get crazy… Wednesday is a big night in programming as I talk about my testimony and the Gospel. So everything is going swimmingly, I’m preaching, and a storm starts roaring outside–nothing out of the ordinary. I start to get into the interactive activity part of the night, and I say something along the lines of, “give whatever it is that is holding you back from the Lord up to Him”. BOOM! A giant flash of lightning, and the next words out of my mouth “Guys, He really wants you to give it up”. Still not crazy enough? Well, we finish the activity, I walk off stage where Kailey tells me, that there is a fire outside and our boys are outside fighting it. Long story short, the lightning hit the ground on the hill behind our building, and with the help of our neighbor, our boys, and the fire department, the fire was put out. I told you… strange week.

Thursday night is when it gets weird again. I’m perfectly fine all day, and then at around 11PM I’m not. Another long story short, I don’t know what I had, but I was getting sick all night, and Friday night ended up running to Rapid’s ER to get some fluids and anti-nausea meds. I’m good now, but I think exhaustion on top of whatever else was going on with my body was a no go. God’s really teaching me to rest, Ha!

Anywho, like I said it was a fantastic, strange week. I am so looking forward to the rest of what God has in store for the summer (hopefully no more ER visits). It is going to be such a joy working alongside Jovon and Adelia this summer, teaching other people that sometimes the most important thing you can do isn’t putting up drywall, but instead letting a child sleep on your lap, and know they are loved and cared for.

One thought on “Ask and You Shall Receive

  1. Learning to take opportunities as they arise and live in the moment is a lesson well-learned, Bethany. Adelia may never remember that you mudded her walls and helped build her house, but I guarantee that she will remember falling asleep in the safe and secure arms of a trusted new friend. Love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

